A moo point, basically …

Arbit/ Random

Zindagi ke safar mein …

with 4 comments

A ‘Senti’, as defined by people in IIT, is when a person voluntarily or under duress starts rambling on and on about how he’s going to miss people he’s spent ‘haseen lamhe’ with and who’ve given him the ‘best days of his life’ and all that.

This post is not that kind of a senti but more of a realization. A signpost, if not a milestone, which almost passed by unnoticed.

A fellow buzzed me last week – chap from my department in IIT (Aerospace). I’d been his TA in my final year in the Department Introductory Course (DIC – *snigger*), he said. I hoped that I had imparted a lot of wisdom and made the department interesting enough (well, tolerable enough) for him and his batchmates. To be honest, the TA-ship was one of the most enjoyable times in my academic life and i probably learnt more about the course then than when I did it the first time round. He told me that he was also the TA in his final year for the same course, was just passing out and was going to join (wait for it) a bank-offshore office.

Sure, there was the dual sense of anonymity and deja vu. But I also realized that with his batch passing out, the last batch of undergrads with whom I would have shared time in my stay in IIT was now exiting (excepting a few unfortunate ones, of course). In spite of being fairly detached from my college/ hostel/ department, especially in the past few years, it still made me just a little bit sad. Teensy weensy bit. And it also brought back this post I’d written when my B.Tech. batchmates passed out in ’06.

Time flies. And how!

Written by sujaybedekar

May 24, 2011 at 4:03 am

Posted in Finance, growing older, IIT

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You are growing old Soozie.

    Parijat

    May 24, 2011 at 10:02 am

    • Ahem … age is in the eye of the beholder, no? I’m just becoming wiser (and more obsolete) with every passing day.

      sujaybedekar

      May 24, 2011 at 11:47 am

  2. Wisdom is so boring.. especially in other people 😛

    Parijat

    May 24, 2011 at 12:34 pm

    • I agree – Can get absolutely intolerable!!

      sujaybedekar

      May 28, 2011 at 12:00 pm


Leave a Reply

