A moo point, basically …

Arbit/ Random

Glory Glory United!

leave a comment »

I’ve *never* posted anything related to the one thing I’m most passionate about, because I tend to get too verbose and digressive when I’m talking about Manchester United. Hopefully I’ll be concise with this post.

I don’t quite remember when I started following the club. I do like telling people that it was the 1999 Champions League final versus Bayern Munchen, when they we went from 0-1 to 2-1 in the last 2 minutes of stoppage time, but to be honest I remember very little about that match. In fact, I don’t think I even watched that match live. I became a fan sometime in the early noughties, when ManUtd were not even playing that well. This was when we had massive a$$es like Kleberson and Djemba-Djemba dominating the headlines and contributing to the disappointment. That was the era of the Arsenal ‘Invincibles’ (oh how I hated that team!). I went to my personal mecca – Old Trafford – for the first time in 2007 when I got a chance to go to the UK, but I didn’t catch my first match there until Mar 2009, when ManUtd came back from a 0-1 deficit vs Liverpool to win 2-1.That was without doubts one of the happiest days of my life.

I could go on and on about my (unhealthy?) obsession with ManU, but I will narrate instead this Q&A from my first (and to-date, touchwood, the only) job interview I’ve ever been forced to sit for. Hopefully it will illustrate my support for the best football club in the world (massive debt notwithstanding)

Interviewers: So you said you are a big fan of Manchester United? Why is that so?

Me: When I see Rooney or Scholes run back 40 yards to defend a ball … when I see Sir Alex Ferguson (SAF) get steamed up for conceding a goal even if he’s winning by 3 goals, I know I’m witnessing passion of the highest order (this was sneaky, ’cause I knew that my prospective employer’s motto was ‘Passion to Perform’). I know that if I’m able to achieve even half the level of their enthusiasm and determination, I’ll end up doing something special in life.

Q: So if you we gave you the chance to invite any 5 people for a nice little dinner, who would they be?

Me: Firstly, I would invite Rajat Gupta (who was a bigshot in McKinsey back then in 2006, and who’s ended up being a controversial personality in recent times). He was an adviser to George Bush at that time, which must have been a fairly interesting position.

Second, I would invite Brajesh Mishra, who was the Defence Secretary of India during the Pokhran Nuclear tests and Kargil War, and would have been a fantastic personality to pick brains.

Third, I would invite Angelina Jolie (I had watched Original Sin the day before) for her UN-related work. <Pause for effect and for interviewers to snigger.> And because she’s so gorgeous. She’ll bring something different to the table.

Fourth, I would invite Sir Alex Ferguson, because I continue to be amazed by his motivation and drive. I just absolutely have to know what he’s thinking about when he wakes up in the morning to go to the field and when he goes to bed at night.

Interviewers (there were two, both seemed to be enjoying this): And who would the fifth person be?

Me: Well, whoever between the two of you is going to foot the bill!

——

I write this just after Man Utd has defeated Chelsea at Old Trafford, pretty much securing the EPL title in the process. When I see a 70 year old Sir Alex going absolute bonkers over the victory and actually bowing down in respect to the Stretford End of the stadium for their vociferous support and determination, I can’t help but feel pride and respect welling up inside me. They tell me that I’m one of those fair-weather supporters of a club which had the maximum number of matches shown on TV in India.That I can’t really support a club unless I have some connection with it through birth or naturalization.

Tonight, I just don’t care.

Written by sujaybedekar

May 9, 2011 at 12:22 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

