A moo point, basically …

Arbit/ Random

The thrill is gone

leave a comment »

(From Good Will Hunting, I point to one of my favourite scenes, one which I have linked to in the past.* It’s the one where Chuckie (Ben Affleck) gives Will (Matt Damon) some perspective in life in the way he (Will) truly understands.

Chuckie: … Let me tell you what I do know. Every day I come by to pick you up. And we go out we have a few drinks, and a few laughs and it’s great. But you know what the best part of my day is? It’s for about ten seconds from when I pull up to the curb to when I get to your door. Because I think maybe I’ll get up there and I’ll knock on the door and you won’t be there. No goodbye, no see you later, no nothin’. Just left. I don’t know much, but I know that.

I had my daily dose of ‘ten seconds of thrill’ when I used to come in to office everyday, log in to my machine, and refresh my Inbox. ‘Ten seconds’ is proof of how bad and slow and painful Lotus Notes is as an email client, but that’s a different story. I used to hope in those 10 seconds that something will have come my way which will make things interesting: which will make my journey to office that day worth all the effort; or which will give me an official excuse to go home early. It was a thrill – nay, a kick – far better than caffeine could give.

Today, I got my office Blackberry – my first smartphone. I will now have checked all my (life-changing/ day-changing) emails before I get to work. I will now realize that I am in fact not as busy as I like to believe. I’m now officially on a leash with the ‘sorry-I-left-office-didn’t-read-your-email’ excuse no longer valid.

The thrill is now no more. Ain’t no sunshine, when it’s gone. Work just got a tad bit depressing.

* That btw is one of my most viewed posts, with most hits coming through google searches of ‘Michael Ballack Matt Damon lookalike’. Which is also a reflection of the readership (if at all there is such a word) of this blog 😛

Written by sujaybedekar

October 8, 2010 at 4:24 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

