A moo point, basically …

Arbit/ Random

Infidelity FTW

with 2 comments

When I first read this headline – “Mother’s Day makes wives want to cheat on their husbands” – at first I was like “WHAT?”. Then I was like “how in the name of everything that’s adulterous and naughty did they generate such statistics?”. I did a double-take when I saw that they picked up this data from a dating website* for married people. Then I did a triple-take (and a silent LOL-chuckle) when I read the website‘s tagline –

LIFE IS SHORT. HAVE AN AFFAIR.

It’s a pity I can’t open the website from India, but it makes me wonder all over again – Why do people get married at all? Why exactly do Americans get married and then find it necessary to fool around? Indians have the ‘excuse’ that arranged marriages are an ineffective method for finding matches for people (yeah, nice try). But, off the top of my head, I cannot think of any non-demeaning reason for such American infidelities, given the supposedly advanced state of their civilization and liberal thinking. I single out America not because of any bias against the country -it is the best country to be a citizen of, for now at least – but because it seems like most of the remaining ‘Western Civilization‘ seems to have done away with this annoyance by quite often choosing to not get married at all.**

Is physical and emotional fidelity supposed to be more like a fine print in any marriage nowadays?

(via kottke.org)

*I seriously doubt whether such a website would be allowed to even run in India. It would be demonized for trying to ‘put bad thoughts’ in the minds of ‘pure, married people’. Speak no evil, hear no evil, see no evil – that’s what we are supposed to do.

** Sorry that I mention this without any supporting links, it’s just something I read somewhere. Please feel free to search for stuff to prove/dismiss this (and send me a link if you find one for either)

Written by sujaybedekar

July 6, 2010 at 5:15 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This very slogan had created quite a furor in Toronto just a few months back. Apparently, the local transport authority (TTC) had received a proposal to advertise it on the street cars that run in the downtown area. However, they decided that it would not be appropriate for the street cars to run around Toronto promoting infidelity/extramarital affairs and, hence, rejected the whole deal. So, on the face of it, Toronto doesn’t approve of “immorality”.

    Chaitali

    July 6, 2010 at 9:05 am

  2. […] a comment » Last year, I blogged about a website which enables adultery, and how it registered a massive number of hits right after […]


Leave a Reply

