A moo point, basically …

Arbit/ Random

It was my mom’s birthday two weeks ago …

with one comment

… and we took her out to her favourite restaurant and had awesome dumplings and clay-pot rice. I taught her (tried to teach her) how to eat stuff using chopsticks. Her enthusiasm lasted for a full ten minutes before she decided to revert back to good ol’ fork-and-spoon. She commented that she now knew how these oriental folks managed to stay so fit and slim.

We had asked the maître d’ to bring her a cake towards the end, but the ass _forgot_. Thankfully, my sis pointed this out to me just as dinner was coming to an end. As a backup, we gave her a brownie surprise with chocolate sauce and candles, accompanied with a few waiters singing ‘Happy Birthday …’ in perfect unison. Arbitrary patrons (who I suspect were a wee bit tipsy) cheered and wished her good luck. It was tough to guess whether my mom was happy or embarassed – I think it was both.

My mom said that this was the first time anyone got her a cake,or gave her a surprise on her birthday. She turned fifty that day.

For the first time I can recall, I was truly left speechless.

Written by sujaybedekar

April 30, 2009 at 9:38 pm

Posted in family, food

Tagged with , , , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Its amazing of how sometimes you feel so full of emotions that you just cant express yourself.. looks like one of those times…treasure it! 🙂

    snehal

    April 15, 2010 at 9:22 pm


Leave a Reply

