A moo point, basically …

Arbit/ Random

Those darned kids – or maybe not

with 2 comments

Overheard recently at a retirement home  –

Lady1 : (in a loud, booming voice) I tell you, kids these days say the darnest things ever!

Lady2: (getting nostalgic) Sigh. I love my grandkids and miss them sorely *mope* *sulk* *nostalgia* *repeat*

Lady3: (sensing something juicy) – @L1: Why do you say so?

Lady1: (enjoying the spotlight)  You know I went to London last month. (Pauses for effect). My son stays in ___, remember I told you about that?

Lady3: (impatiently, tersely) Yes. I don’t think you can let me forget that.

Lady1: So I go to my son’s house, and his 5-year old takes my hand (touches hand subconsciously) and starts showing me around the house. “This is my room, aaji (grandma). This is where I play with my toys <blah> <blah>.”

Lady3: How cute!

Lady2: (miffed because she’s being ignored) I. miss. my. grandkids. ahem.

Lady1: (now on a roll) Then she takes me to the a big bedroom and says, “This is daddy’s room. And this one (pointing to the one beside it) is mummy’s room. They have had their fill of each other by now plus we now have a big house, so they don’t need to sleep next to each other any longer.” Oh my god, I tell you, my son seriously had nothing to say! His face … (cracking up …)

Lady3: (mission accomplished) Lol! Seriously?! Enh… hee hee hee hee hee heenh (in a laughter which sounds eerily like Aishwarya Rai screechy giggle)

Lady2: Ass. You just told us that your son and his wife have marital issues. Are you sure that the KID is the dumbest person in your family?

Lady1: …

Me: WTF am I eavesdropping on old-lady gossip?

Speaking of retirement homes/ old-age centres – all those cliches we see and read everywhere are actually spot on. There are people with that glazed look in their eyes, as if their mind and their body manage to co-exist while living in different decades. There is a slowness to everything which can be quite infuriating if it wasn’t so sad. A retirement home is not necessarily a house for rejects, but it is the place where people go because they have become, in some way or the other, a burden to their loved ones. There are your usual loners, who hasten their departures by wallowing in the past, and then there are those boisterous ones who’ve most probably led quite nice lives and must often wonder how they landed up here in the first place.

It makes me resolve – I’d rather die young than live to an age of obscurity and dependence. And this a resolution for keeps, for sure.

Written by sujaybedekar

January 21, 2009 at 1:19 am

Posted in arbit, babies, india

Tagged with , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am curious, why did you visit a retirement home?

    Amrita

    January 22, 2009 at 10:57 am

    • I have a relative staying in one in Pune, went a-visiting.

      sujaybedekar

      January 22, 2009 at 11:33 am


Leave a Reply

