A moo point, basically …

Arbit/ Random

Resolutions – I has dem

with 2 comments

I was reminded of a post I saw quite some time ago on kottke regarding Twitter trends at this New Year. It (the post) mentioned how people included booze-related keywords like ‘hangover’ and ‘alcohol’ more frequently when they are twittering closer to the weekend than around Wednesday.

If a similar twitter trend was to be done for the word ‘resolution’, I’m pretty sure it would spike real hard in the first and last weeks of the year and would be relatively lull in between (unless people upgraded their computers and got better monitors).

Trying to validate this hypothesis, my resolution for the year is three-point-five-fold –

1.  This is the year I will be a strict conformist (not that I have been particularly anarchist/ non-conformist in the past). Specifically, my aim is to limit my book-reading to entries in this list. I’ve read so far just 10 out of all these, and had never heard of almost half of these until recently, so it is a fairly unrealistic resolution yes. End of specifics.

2. I will try to explore more the field of behavorial economics – or whatever the field of economics the freakonomics guys are experts of. (The book is not quite as cool as the blog is, btw.)

3. I will visit one new country this year – and not just so that I can add new pins to my Cities Visited facebook app.

3.5. A mini-resolution – to not save posts as drafts too often and to post them instead.

The fate of my 2008 resolutions has not been that great –

1. Stop wasting time on pointless stuff, and waste time on relevant stuff. Corr: be less ambiguous/ obscure FAIL
2.1 Stop cracking crappy jokes which test the limits of patience of unfortunate people who happen to be in the vicinity. FAIL
2.2. Be more respectful, less rude, more polite, more punctuational (i.e. use better punctuation) – in general be a more boring person, just to see what it feels like. somewhat FAIL
3. Not drink more than once a week, and not drink on 3 consecutive weeks. occasional  FAIL
4. Stop resolving to get into shape and actually get into shape (Not intended to sound like Neo. Stop trying to hit me and hit me’ ) – PASS then FAIL
5. Stop resolving to go get myself a girl, because it seems like a waste of a resolution – epic PASS, which by itself is an epic FAIL
6. Embark on one memorable >=7 day trip (preferably solo), inside or outside India. – PASS, Thankfully.
7. Watch a match at Old Trafford Almost PASS  (I watched one at Stamford Bridge. Old Trafford, here I come this year! )

As part of my resolve to accomplish resolution 1, I’ve already created an elaborate spreadsheet with macros and all to document my progress. All I need to do now is just sit and read 🙂

Hopefully, this will be the year of optimism and great motivation and minimal financial shocks. Amen

Written by sujaybedekar

January 7, 2009 at 7:52 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 2.1 Stop cracking crappy jokes which test the limits of patience of unfortunate people who happen to be in the vicinity. – FAIL

    Was destined to fail 😛

    5. Stop resolving to go get myself a girl, because it seems like a waste of a resolution – epic PASS, which by itself is an epic FAIL

    Hehe…

    Kahan hai aajkal waise tu?

    siddharth

    February 14, 2009 at 1:20 pm

  2. @Sid: I’m still at Deutsche, weathering the financial storm with some insulation 😛

    sujaybedekar

    February 15, 2009 at 11:48 am


Leave a Reply

