A moo point, basically …

Arbit/ Random

Confessions – 2

with 2 comments

Every time I walk into a room, the first thing my mind pictures is this: How can I throw a rubber ball at one wall, make it bounce off/onto other walls without hitting miscellaneous objects such that it lands perfectly in my hands like a demented boomerang?

Not being able to test different scenarios can sometimes limit my fulfillment, but just imagining different scenarios is by itself quite enjoyable. The very first code I remember writing was to simulate a ball just bouncing around inside a box of any prescribed shape. This was, of course, eons ago, when people used BASIC to be nerdy and by ‘the web’ actually referred to some arachnid creation. It follows, not so surprisingly, that Jeezball (or kBounce if it pleases you) is up there in my list of all-time favourite games.

This interest of mine was piqued ever since I learned that angles of incidence and reflection are always the same for light. Then I discovered how a periscope really works and was completely bowled over. Trying to simulate multiple bouncing of light was tough given the absence of any spare mirrors at home. I hence turned towards the omnipresent cricket ball for solace, and it did not fail me. I now had the unexpected but nevertheless interesting factor of gravity to contend with: the ball doesn’t just move forward and bounce off stuff, but it does this while it is falling constantly! Seriously, how cool is that! (nod and read ahead )

Sadly, real life manifestations of this hobby got severely curtailed after some rather unfortunate incidents. Trying to replicate this in other games like carrom often ended up in me hitting some very complex (and absolutely futile) shot and looking quite silly in the process. But my enthusiasm hasn’t waivered one bit.

I would had kept this thing to myself had xkcd – more specifically Randall Munroe – not given me courage with this gem –

(Ok – Maybe the xkcd bit is just to make this post funny and distract the reader from the aforementioned nuance)

Being a geek is not and will never be fashionable unless you have oodles of cash – even then people will just barely tolerate you and call you ‘eccentric’ instead of ‘weird’. But at least you won’t get ostracized by a civil society (I hope).

So that’s that.

Written by sujaybedekar

September 22, 2008 at 7:36 pm

Posted in arbit, comics

Tagged with , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oye! I have a question…how do you put inline pictures in a post?

    Amrita

    September 27, 2008 at 5:50 am

  2. Just click on the ‘Add an image’ icon next to the ‘Add Media’ section above the text-box. Choose ‘Align Right’ for … well, images aligned right (like the first one here) or Align centre for – you get my drift.
    Happy to help.

    sujaybedekar

    September 27, 2008 at 7:12 am


Leave a Reply

