A moo point, basically …

Arbit/ Random

Aamir (2008)

with 3 comments

Most movies crave for hype. Aamir was released without anAamir (2008)y hype or real promotion, but it picked up purely on word-of-mouth publicity, which is probably the truest test of how good a movie is. But by the time I watched it, the movie had been so trumped up, it didn’t seem to be that good.

<digression> I’ve often heard people say mouth-to-mouth publicity instead of word-of-mouth, and I have without fail imagined lifeguards in red bikinis coming to rescue folks. Every time. </digression>

The actor is a revelation – one of those few actors to go from TeeVee to MooVee quite effortlessly – although I must confess I’ve never quite seen any of TV series. The characters are played quite brilliantly by all actors (mostly Marathi actors, which is a sad reflection on the current state of Marathi cinema. Again I must confess, I don’t watch it much 😦 ). The story is quite standard but the plot is very nicely written (my English Lit. prof. must be so happy I finally understood the difference). Calling this movie a copy of Phonebooth is like saying The Thin Red line is a ripoff of Saving Private Ryan. The qawwaali in the movie is quite nice too.

And yet, the movie leaves you unsatisfied. Why? I explain with the help of my source of daily rozi-roti i.e. MS Excel.

Fraction of Movie completed Stage in the movie Nice? (Normalised w.r.t. Initial Hype)
-0.2 Initial Hype – Awesome! 1
0 Start (Missed first 10 minutes) 😦 0
0.2 The first twist (Taxi scene) 0.5
0.4 The Dongri scene (filled with crap) 0.7
0.6 The tale of the two sisters 0.8
0.8 Retrieves bag (Refer Video) 1.1
0.9 Final twist in the bus 1.3
0.95 The slo-mo in the end -0.1
1 Fini 0.7

In true analyst, here’s an overdose of the same information – but this time as a graph. Aamir (2008) - Niceness plot

Clearly, Average (0.667) < Hype (1). Hence proved.

I still give it 3 stars. And I do think that people should stop inserting redemption for kaum (community) in every movie with Muslim characters (e.g. Shaurya).

Ed: I’m not alone in the disappointment/ sense of being let down. PFC and J Ramanand concur too, apparently.

Written by sujaybedekar

June 25, 2008 at 1:33 pm

Posted in Movies, reviews

Tagged with , , , , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hmm.. nice analysis..
    although i think that since you missed out on the start, the data point should have been out of the calculation and not be taken as a zero.. that might increase the average..

    anirudh patil

    June 25, 2008 at 2:29 pm

  2. I thought so too- the movie doesnt seem to have too much of a point. The suitcase retrieval was the high point for me.

    Net-net I am still glad I saw the movie though.

    Amrita

    June 28, 2008 at 11:31 am

  3. Thanks for your link!
    Use of quantitative measures (that too normalised) to describe reactions: nice! 🙂 (perhaps you should add some cool timeline-style visualisations)

    Aamir – wish it’d been better. Next time.

    As for ‘mouth to mouth’ publicity, I’m told it worked well for the movie ‘French Kiss’!

    Ramanand

    July 9, 2008 at 7:21 pm


Leave a Reply

