A moo point, basically …

Arbit/ Random

Moral dilemma

with 6 comments

There’s an app in Facebook called ‘Cities I’ve Visited’ in which people can show off all places they have traveled to. For me, this app has raised a moral dilemma –

On my recent trip to the land of infinite opportunities and shady mortgages, I took a week off as mentioned earlier and roamed around Northern USA, which turned out to be not quite the best travel plan due to the infinite snow I encountered wherever I went. And it is the ‘wherever I went’ part which is the bone of contention … the stumbling block … the main hurdle … the faltering step … the cause of the dilemma.

On the face of it, I am now a well-traveled man, having been to Minneapolis, Fargo, Chicago, Urbana-Champaign, Ann Arbor, Detroit, New Jersey and New York City (phew). But the following table tells a different story –

Place Visited Time spent in all
Time spent in Bus station/ Airport/ Train/ Broken down car
Edison, NJ 5 hrs Train (2 hrs)
Minneapolis, MN 18 hrs Airport (3 hrs), Greyhound bus station (3 hours)
Chicago , IL 6 hrs Greyhound bus station (5 hrs), Car (1 hr)
Marshall, MI 2 hrs Broken down car (2 hrs)
Detroit, MI 4 hrs Airport (4 hrs)
Dubai 4 hrs Duty Free (4 hrs)

One might scoff if I give naivety and inexperience in planning such trips as an excuse for such a sucky outcome, although in my defense the horrid weather conditions were partly to blame. Nevertheless, I would like to resolve my dilemma which is giving me such sleepless naps –

Am I allowed to flaunt the aforementioned places on the Fb travel map?

Nb: I always thought dilemma was spelled as ‘dilemna’ … but firefox spellcheck thinks otherwise

Written by sujaybedekar

April 4, 2008 at 6:01 am

Posted in new york, travel, US

Tagged with , , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I also cheated a bit and added Seoul to my FB travel map…had been there only in transit.

    PS: why are there there snippets of this post in the comments section of lotsa previous posts?

    Amrita

    April 6, 2008 at 12:14 am

  2. the snippets are because of some pingback thingy, i think – rectified that anyway.

    sujaybedekar

    April 6, 2008 at 2:04 am

  3. i will not make a travel map because then ppl will know that i have never been out of the country and even there not souther than pune and norther than bikaner and my total uncoolness will become apparent 😦

    any words of advice oh well travelled one???

    kunal

    April 6, 2008 at 11:03 am

  4. well … ‘don’t include this app on your facebook acct’ is a suggestion which immediately comes to mind 😛

    coolness can be achieved by showing disdain for petty things like ‘Cities I’ve visited’ apps on Facebook 🙂 – “I’m too cool to care!” works most of the times

    sujaybedekar

    April 6, 2008 at 1:30 pm

  5. advice taken and implemented andi have gone a step further in achieving facebook coolness by eschewing facebook altogether. now i am the coolest i can be in this framework as is possible.

    danke for the wise words.

    invertedvision

    April 6, 2008 at 7:56 pm

  6. dilemma/dilemna – i had the same doubt a couple of years ago. maybe this will clear your doubt:
    http://www.kingmarketing.ca/weblogs/ajkandy/archives/2005/02/instal_a_spell.html

    vikranthaudi

    April 29, 2008 at 12:44 am


Leave a Reply

